101 thi – uh, 88 things in 1001 days

So I was bored, slacking off as usual (jokes – there is no work :s) when I found all the old archives of people doing 101 things in a 1001 days. I think it’s quite a cool idea, it gives you plenty of variety of things to focus on while giving you the gentle push of a distant deadline to make you do the things you’ve supposedly always want to but never actually got around to.

It’s kind of like the CD paradox. I would see a CD I really wanted, several times. I would pine for the CD, go into the shop and stroke the little picture of the musician I so admired, the trundle off to pine some more. Then, completely unexpectedly I would find myself out with friends and we’d go into HMV. 3 CDs for £20 you say? Gosh what a bargain. I’d leave the shop and think “but these aren’t what I’ve been pining for?” and remember that my true love was still on the shelf and in my bag was dross. This happened several times. I think they release some kind of hypnotic gas in that place…

But it’s the same for general life. I think “oh wouldn’t it be nice to go to Stratford?” but then I watch TV or doss about town or see a really incredibly poor film at the cinema. So I thought I’d jump on the bandwagon and hitch a lift to happytown. I haven’t quite finished my list yet but I’ve only be doing it today. It’s probably good to have a bit of reflection time. It’s good to know that there I things I want to do. And I had a good idea for gifts I can make.

Leave a Reply

