~*New Feature*~

I’m sure you are amazed by my misuse of random characters. What could it be, this new feature that requires such juvenile decor? It is:

Virginia’s Bisexual Icon of the Week!ta da!

In light of one of my recent posts about how I missed out on a significant event in my life because I didn’t know bisexual was an option, I have decided to start compiling a list of prominent bisexual people. How dull monosexualism will seem in comparison!

First up: Virginia Woolf

As a woman so awesome I named my blog after her Virginia Woolf has to come first. She was an intelligent and sensitive woman and born into the privilege of literary high society. It was a natural progression that surrounded by creative people on all sides she should become a novelist herself, pioneering modernist styles with strong psychological development of her characters.

Virginia was a feminist and advocated that women have the potential to be equal to men in creativity given the time, space and freedom from financial worry to do so. In her upper class Bloomsbury group and creative circles it was common to take a lover in addition to marriage, so although she was devoted to her husband Leonard she simultaneously had another long term partner, Vita Sackville-West.

It is thought that childhood abuse from her half brothers and deaths of many significant family members in her youth triggered fragile mental health for the rest of Virginia’s life. She had multiple breakdowns and it has been theorised that she may have been bipolar. At the age of 59 she drowned herself.

I think Virginia Woolf means something to me because I empathise with the way she writes about things. I know what it feels like to dissociate from the world because I’m so tangled in a web of my own thoughts (albeit less well constructed thoughts than hers). I understand how emotion can be there beneath the surface without being acknowledged, and what it feels like to be torn by something you refuse to admit exists. Virginia speaks to a side of my character that very few people do.

One Response to ~*New Feature*~

  1. anathema says:

    Second that – Virginia Woolf is spectacular.

    As some one is also bipolar (in addition to those other ‘afflictions’ (jk) i mentioned in my other post) – i find it quite commendable that she had her thoughts so ‘well-organized.’ Not exactly what bipolar people are known for… at least, certainly not if they’re in a manic phase.

    I think that dissociating from the world is a good way to tamper down emotions in order to be able to make sense of things. If they’re ‘running you’ then it’s quite difficult to articulate things so clearly.

    Another testimony to her strength – that if she was bipolar, and untreated, she made it all the way to 59. So many of us die young – and yes, too often at our own hands.

    P.S. But no worries about this bird 😉 Not today, anyways, for sure. LOL To quote my beloved “I’m medicated, how are you?”

Leave a Reply

