Politics scares me

And not because it’s complicated, or too much to understand. It scares me because of the way I look at certain politicians, see terrifying monsterbeasts, and then see loads of people loving and praising said monsterbeasts. It would be really easy to use Sarah Palin as an example here, Mrs “you can strip mine as many Alaskan national parks as you like as long as you birth that rape baby” but as I’m not American and have no voting rights in that country I’m going to leave that there.

What really concerns me, naturally, is my own country and the horrible certainty that we will see a Conservative government. I admit I see David Cameron as a monsterbeast. He’s all slippery and shiny on the outside, and uses a sneering tone of voice that implies that you’re the one saying something stupid. I have a fairly keen sense of when people are being insincere and Mr Cameron literally makes my skin crawl with how much of an act everything he does and says is. He’s just doing it for the media attention; why don’t people see that?

The man is a hypocrit. He claims to care about the environment then charters a plane to visit the arctic. He claims to be against the “social engineering” of the current government then talks of his plans to encourage more people to marry. He claims it’s the public’s own stupid fault for being overweight and yet how many in his cabinet have a BMI if under 25? I don’t understand how in the face of his obvious snobbish distaste for the British public he is still so well-liked. Or is this the type of person people feel should be in power? Is a hypocritical, snobbish media tart what people expect from a Prime Minister? If it is that is a damn depressing thought…

2 Responses to Politics scares me

  1. UK Voter says:

    I don’t think it has anything to do with David Cameron being liked, lets fact it, he is a toff, that has never known real hardship. Instead, it has everything to do with the fact that people cannot stand another day of Labour government and in particular Gordon Brown.

    The conservative party lacks policies and in spite of that, they are still ahead in the polls, that provides a sign of how people feel. Cameron is impersonal and lacks sincerity, as you have said, but he is still ahead in the polls, there are few ‘characters’ in his party and yet they are still ahead in the polls.

    Labour will lose the next election, of that I am convinced and the conservative party will almost certainly have a small majority, but make no mistake, based on their current performance, they will not have won their place, labour will simply have lost the election.

    For the first time in my life, I don’t believe any of the main parties are worthy of our votes, that is the state of our politics today.

  2. whatwouldvirginiado says:

    You’ve reminded me of something my dad told me about voting: you don’t vote for someone you want, you vote against the one you don’t want. I can see this accounting for about half of the tory vote when they win the next election.

    But don’t underestimate how much people are prepared to back a party purely for the sake of having something to get riled up about. Part of this is the ‘personality over policy’ mediawhoring culture that has effected politics in the last few decades. People are angry with labour but it feels fruitless to say so without backing it up with a “so-and-so wouldn’t do that” whether based in fact or not. People do like Cameron’s easy manner and posh accent – they assume it makes him clever and capable of running the country which reassures them when they vote for a party they might not otherwise have considered if they weren’t so keen to oust labour.

    I agree it is difficult to choose between the main parties right now – they all seem to have veered to a similar slightly right of centre position on the political compass.

Leave a Reply

