A terrible accident

Something awful happened yesterday. I was meeting one of my significants in town he called to ask where he could find me – on the spot I answered Borders. He arrived just ten minutes later but it was already too late and I had picked up a massive stack of books. It is the first time I have used a basket in a bookshop it was that bad. I purchased:

  1. The Watchmen graphic novel (that I tried to get last year but is now suddenly available since the movie trailers started showing)
  2. The Gothic and Lolita Bible (I had no idea that non-goth lolita was so popular. Also included bonus sewing patterns)
  3. Red Seas under Red Skies (the sequel to the Lies of Locke Lamora)
  4. An economics book (for the education of my brain)
  5. That GMTV Penny Smith book for my mum
  6. A gift for my partner to calm him down before his job interview

This is what happens when I decide to not spend money for a bit. And now my book pile is mountainous and will probably fall on me causing me to die horribly of crushing injuries and papercuts. If I should die with books unread I will ensure a clause in my will forces someone to read them all.

2 Responses to A terrible accident

  1. Cliff Burns says:

    The life of the bibliophile: no one understands the sick compulsion that won’t allow us to pass a bookstore–new or used–or even drive by a garage sale without stopping, on the off-chance that a book we’ve been looking for FOREVER might be there.

    Very sad…

  2. whatwouldvirginiado says:

    Tell me about it! And yet there are still so many things on my ‘list’ – a list I don’t dare write down lest I see how very long it is.

Leave a Reply

