Brace yourself: sparks reigniting

Today will be a day of sad for the three people who accidentally read this blog – next week I will be on holiday. This means radio silence until at least the 21st. I am going on a peaceful holiday and look forward to walking in the woods, on the beach and to the pub for dinner.

In other news I have been geeking out. Having observed a resurgenceof interest in Magic:The Gathering among the housefolk I dug out my old cards and went through them with my partner. As a teenager I had enjoyed the collecting aspect more than playing as I had few opponents and found self-teaching a little awkward as there was no one around to correct my misinterpretations. Since then many intimidating new rules have been made but I may make an effort to learn them on a rainy day next week – after all it is far more stimulating to play a game than watch TV.

So: ten years ago I was an avid collector, and probably had about two thirds of that particular set. My interest waned when too many different sets started coming out too often and I found my pocket money was better spent in the pub. Going through the old cards with my partner last night was a joy. He was pleased to find a couple of cards ‘from his list’ that he was planning to track down on eBay. He found numerous other cards that he wanted to steal for their general awesomeness. He told me that one of my cards could be worth up to a hundred pounds. For the first time I felt some pride in my collection, and a sudden reluctance to share them as much as I had been offering to. Knowing that I have good cards may reignite my interest in the game.

I am reminded of at university when a group of friends bundled into my room when I was with my partner and the heavily ironic Southern Belle exclaiming: “You’re playing magic? That is so much worse than being caught having sex. I’m embarrassed for you.” She’s a fantastic woman.

It has occurred to me that I can use this blog to track the lengths of my hobbies, interests and projects. In my estimation I arbitrarily decided some time ago that my interest could not possibly be held for longer than three weeks. The only thing I can think of that I have actively pursued for longer than this is cross stitch. I suppose my card collecting phase should count too, which probably lasted about a year before subsiding into occasional three week revivals. This week I have been mentally preparing for a fit of writing. Preparing for my holiday has left me little time to put pen to paper apart from one sketch of foreshadowing with which I was delighted. I am a little concerned at present by my current reading material (a novel inhabiting the mind of Henry James) which has made my writing style incredibly verbose. I am sure it will be fine under stricter conditions but I can see it here quite clearly. It also seems to have swallowed my point. Not helpful at all – although reading about the trials and tribulations of an author does tempt me to have a go.

Leave a Reply

