… And then he Spielberged all over it.

I don’t know who or what abducted Steven Spielberg’s marbles about 10 years ago but they are long gone. The man has made good alien movies, but he needs to understand that you can’t just crowbar aliens into every plot you lay your hands on #ahemAI# and I imagine he and George Lucas were sipping cold drinks in a hot place one day when they had this exchange:

Spielberg: I can put aliens in Indiana Jones, right?

Lucas: It’s freakin’ Indiana Jones! You could do a ten minute naked dance and it’ll still smash the box office.

Spielberg: I’m not really comfortable with cameos George.

Lucas: Wait, you were serious?

And so there were aliens. But it was kind of a 50s thing, along with greasers, atomic bombs and commies. I would have been happier if the aliens hadn’t come to life though, but you can’t have everything. Aside from that it was an entertaining if nostalgic watch. Harrison Ford may be old but he’s still got it, it’s just a little slower now. He also gets extra credit for waxing his chest hair to save the rainforests.

In other news: one of the housefolks randomly shouted at me for being a man-hating feminist. Which was weird. And made him sound drunk, though I hadn’t thought he was particularly drunk before that. All it took was a mention of the F word and he snatched it up and ran with it. There wasn’t really a lot I could say as I could tell from the manic look in his eyes that he would have loved to have baited me into shouting and looking crazy. He wasn’t interested in talking about it, it just pleased him to say things about how feminists are resting on their laurels a bit at the moment but then it’s not like we can throw ourselves under cart-horses any more and we’ve had the vote for ages anyway. This is the second time he’s done this. I’m still not sure what his point is but it is getting on my nerves. He’s also tried to insist that I wear a smaller clothing size than I do, inadvertantly implying that my size is large.

And on a slight sidenote: I’m frequently blind with sleepiness after just waking up but I now think I am blinded by not giving a flying fuck about what I am supposed to be researching. I’m sure it must have been deliberated elsewhere but how exactly does a fuck fly? If anyone knows I’d be delighted if you would share it.

Leave a Reply

